Force Protection News

7 RAF Police Squadron win the De Putron Trophy again

Personnel hold the De Putron Trophy.
Provost Marshal Group Captain Wilkinson presents Squadron Leader Kerslake with the De Putron Trophy.

Congratulations to 7 RAF Police Squadron who are the winners of the De Putron Trophy for the second year!

7 RAF Police (Air Mobility) Squadron provide specialist Policing and Security to the Air Mobility Force at RAF Brize Norton, the Puma Force at RAF Benson, the Chinook Force at RAF Odiham and Command Support Air Transport at RAF Northolt.  In addition to looking after over 11,000 service personnel, civil servants and contractors the Squadron also provided all RAF security at the G7 conference in Carbis Bay and had multiple teams deployed on Operation PITTING.

"This year’s submissions surpassed all our expectations and visually demonstrates the incredibly diverse work that the people of the RAF Police conduct. 7 Sqn was a worthy winner, they have undertaken a considerable amount of high-profile work over the course of the year that is captured in their video."

Group Captain David Wilkinson
Provost Marshal (RAF)

RAF Police personnel deployed on Operation PITTING.

The De Putron Trophy is awarded annually to the regular or reserve RAF Police formation that has shown the greatest achievement, leadership, exceptional standards and endeavours, and is awarded following the assessment of a submission by the RAF Police Squadrons.

"I am immensely proud of all my personnel - the MPGS that protect and prevent, the Civil Servants that deny and support and the RAF Police for their commitment to operations. This recognition is fulfilment of an outstanding year for all of those involved. I am proud to be part of this team and an undoubted highlight of my 35 year career. Congratulations to all."

Squadron Leader Andy Kerslake
Officer Commanding Number 7 RAF Police (Air Mobility) Squadron

RAF Police work at computers and desk.
RAF Police personnel working alongside civilian colleagues at G7 conference.

The De Putron trophy was commissioned in 1948 by the former Provost Marshal, Air Commodore De Putron CB, CBE, RAF.

Connect with Force Protection