3 (Fighter) Squadron

The first front-line RAF Squadron to operate the Eurofighter Typhoon and a key part of the RAF’s mission to respond to threats to UK airspace.

"The third shall be the first"


3 (F) Squadron is based at RAF Coningsby and is one of two Quick Reaction Alert (QRA) stations in the UK. It's the first British, Empire or Commonwealth independent military unit to operate heavier-than-air flying machines. The Squadron badge, as approved by King George VI in September 1937, bears the annotation 'Fighter Squadron'. The current badge, on the Squadron Standard, says 'Squadron' only. Former aircraft flown by the Squadron include the Hurricane I, Javelin FAW4 and Harrier GR1 and GR5. 3 (F) Squadron provided air defence for the London 2012 Olympics - the first time RAF fighters have been stationed in London since World War Two.


1911   Formed at Larkhill as No.2 (Aeroplane) Company, Air Battalion, Royal Engineers.

1912   Renamed No.3 Squadron, Royal Flying Corps.

1935   Deployed to Sudan during the Abyssinian crisis.

1999   Took part in Operation ALLIED FORCE over Kosovo.

2006   Moved to RAF Coningsby, Lincolnshire.

Battle honours

1914-1918*   Western Front

1914-1918*   Mons

1914-1918*   Neuve Chapelle

1914-1918*   Loos

1916   Somme

1917   Cambrai 

1918*   Somme

1918*   Hindenburg Line

1940*   France and Low Countries

1940*   Battle of Britain

1940-1945   Home Defence

1942-1944   Fortress Europe

1943-1945   Channel and North Sea 

1944*   Normandy

1944*   Arnhem

1944*   Rhine

1944-1945*   France and Germany

2003*   Iraq

2011   Libya

(Honours marked with an asterisk, may be emblazoned on the Squadron Standard)


Please contact the home station Media Communications team for more information or to contact the Squadron

Media enquiries details for RAF Coningsby