7 Squadron

Providing rapid mobility world-wide in support of the RAF on operations.

By day and by night

On a hurt, seven mullets of six points forming a representation of the constellation Ursa Major - approved by King George VI in June 1939.


  • Based at RAF Odiham, home of the UK Chinook force
  • The last RFC unit to stand up before WWI
  • Aircraft flown include the Lancaster, Valiant and the Canberra
  • Flies the latest Chinook HC6 variant



1914 - Formed at Farnborough.

1941 - The first RAF unit to operate four-engined bombers in WWII.

2000 - Took part in operations in Sierra Leone.


Battle honours

Western Front 1915-1918

Ypres 1915

Loos, Somme 1916

Ypres 1917

Fortress Europe 1941-1944

Biscay Ports 1941-1944

Ruhr 1942-1945

German Ports 1942-1945

Berlin 1943-1945

France and Germany 1944-1945

Normandy 1944




Iraq 2003*.

Iraq 2003-2011*

Afghanistan 2001-2014

(Honours marked with an asterisk, may be emblazoned on the Squadron Standard)


Please contact the home station Media Communications team for more information or to contact the Squadron

Media enquiries details for RAF Odiham