Yorkshire Universities Air Squadron


YUAS is based at RAF Leeming, situated between Catterick and Thirsk. 

The Squadron has a training staff of five including a Squadron Leader commanding the unit, three Flight Lieutenant Qualified Flying Instructors and a Sergeant Ground Training Instructor.  They are supported by an Adjutant and two admin officers who are all civil servants. 

Established for 75 students, the Squadron recruits approximately 30 students each year from its feeder universities.  Members of YUAS will fly from RAF Leeming which is the base for all routine activities.



YUAS has a full training programme that includes flying training on the Tutor, Adventurous Training (AT), leadership training and visits to RAF stations. This aim is to introduce members to the role of the RAF and Defence and to show them the career options available to them in both Regular and Reserve service. 

Many students have gone on to gain AT leadership and instructional qualifications and many have managed to go solo on the Tutor and even advance on towards solo navigation, formation flying and aerobatics.

Weekly training

Members of YUAS attend RAF Leeming every Friday evening in term time for a Training Night where you will receive leadership, Air Power and officer development training; guest speakers are also invited to give Air Power and military themed  lectures and briefs. Members of the Squadron will also be given the opportunity to develop their public speaking skills. 

All those joining the Squadron will have an induction week in December and then join all other members for a full week in the Easter vacation and for a week of field leadership training in June.  There are plenty of opportunities beyond these three weeks to get involved in all aspects of UAS life including flying, AT, and of course the social life of an Officers’ Mess. The Squadron flies Tuesday to Saturday from October to April.


1941  Hull UAS was formed at RAF Driffield and Leeds UAS at Yeadon, providing training to undergraduates.

1969   Yorkshire Universities Air Squadron was formed on 15 March at RAF Church Fenton, with the amalgamation of the university air squadrons of Leeds and Hull.

1972  The unit badge was given Royal approval by HM Queen Elizabeth II in October.

1975-1995  The Squadron flew from RAF Finningly, now Doncaster airport.

1995-2013  The Squadron relocated to and flew from RAF Church Fenton, until its closure.

Contact details

Yorkshire Universities Air Squadron, RAF Leeming, Northallerton, DL7 9NJ

Phone: 01677 426336

Email: [email protected]


Connect with Yorkshire Universities Air Squadron