GORDON SHEPHARD MEMORIAL PRIZE COMPETITION WINNERS

This document is a work in progress.

The Directorate of Defence Studies (RAF) are checking the accuracy of the following list of prize winners and, where possible, will be finding and digitising as many of the essays as possible.

| 1919 | Squadron Leader C H K Edmonds DSO OBE Flight Lieutenant C J MacKay MC DFC Lieutenant H A Jones MC (late RAF) |
|------|---|
| 1920 | Squadron Leader Burchall OBE Squadron Leader B E Smythies DFC Flying Officer R P M Whitham MC |
| 1921 | Flight Lieutenant C J MacKay MC DFC Squadron Leader Sir N R A D Leslie Bt CBE |
| 1922 | Squadron Leader W S Douglas MC DFC Flying Officer C J S Dearlove Air Commodore C R Samson CMG DSO AFC Squadron Leader A A Walser MC DFC Squadron Leader D G Donald DFC AFC |
| 1923 | Flight Lieutenant J C Slessor MC Squadron Leader W S Douglas MC DFC Flight Lieutenant J L Vachell MC |
| 1924 | Flying Officer E J Kingston-McCloughry DSO DFC Flight Lieutenant J L Vachell MC Flight Lieutenant A S J Lee MC Wing Commander E D M Robertson DFC Squadron Leader L L MacLean |
| 1925 | Flight Lieutenant V H Tait Squadron Leader F J Linnell OBE Squadron Leader L L Maclean |
| 1926 | Squadron Leader J L Vachell MC Squadron Leader A A B Thomson MC AFC |
| 1927 | Wing Commander L A Pattinson DSO MC DFC |



| 1928 | Squadron Leader G C Pirie MC DFC Group Captain E D M Robertson DFC |
|------|---|
| 1929 | Wing Commander W A McClaughry DSO MC DFC Group Captain L W B Rees VC OBE MC AFC Squadron Leader H P Lloyd MC DFC |
| 1930 | Squadron Leader R P M Whitham MC Wing Commander T L Leigh-Mallory DSO Squadron Leader R L Stevenson MBE |
| 1931 | Squadron Leader R P M Whitham MC Squadron Leader J L Vachell MC Group Captain C H K Edmonds DSO OBE |
| 1932 | Wing Commander R H M S Saundby MC DFC AFC Squadron Leader R L Stevenson MBE Flight Lieutenant W M Yool |
| 1933 | Flight Lieutenant E J Kingston-McCloughry DSO DFC Wing Commander J C Pirie MC DFC Wing Commander R H M S Saundby MC DFC AFC |
| 1934 | Flying Officer N McI Kemp (Lieutenant RN) Group Captain T L Leigh-Mallory DSO Flight Lieutenant W A Tattersall |
| 1935 | Squadron Leader R S Sorley DSO DFC Wing Commander R H M S Saundby MC DFC AFC Wing Commander R L Stevenson MBE |
| 1936 | Wing Commander G S N Johnston Flight Lieutenant W A Tattersall Sergeant F Gomersall |
| 1937 | Flight Lieutenant W F Pharazyn Wing Commander R P M Whitham OBE MC Wing Commander G S N Johnston |
| 1938 | Wing Commander H V Rowley Pilot Officer F Gomersall |



| 1949 | Wing Commander E E Vielle OBE Wing Commander J R Gordon-Finlayson DSO DFC Wing Commander J B Tait DSO DFC |
|------|---|
| 1950 | Wing Commander A G T James Squadron Leader C T Nance MA Squadron Leader C M Clementi OBE |
| 1951 | Flight Lieutenant E A Knighton Squadron Leader E Graham Flight Lieutenant R Brickwood |
| 1952 | Wing Commander C N Foxley-Norris DSO Flight Lieutenant G H Burgess Wing Commander J R Every |
| 1953 | Flight Lieutenant M A Bunce MA Wing Commander J E T Haile Wing Commander C N Foxley-Norris DSO |
| 1954 | Wing Commander W G Lawrence Group Captain E A Whiteley CBE DFC Wing Commander H D Newman OBE |
| 1955 | Wing Commander W Carter DFC Flight Lieutenant G H Burgess Wing Commander H C D Blasberry |
| 1956 | Group Captain W Carter DFC Wing Commander P de L Le Cheminant DFC Flight Lieutenant D H Hofford |
| 1957 | Group Captain W Carter DFC Wing Commander F G C Gilbert Wing Commander G F Howell OBE MA |
| 1958 | Squadron Leader E J Baker Squadron Leader J C T Richards MA Wing Commander J H F Ford DFC |
| 1959 | Group Captain M M Gardham Air Commodore D N Kington Blair-Oliphant OBE BA Squadron Leader G C T Richards MA |



| 1960 | Group Captain N Cameron DSO DFC Air Commodore W Carter DFC Group Captain M M Garham |
|------|--|
| 1961 | Air Commodore W Carter DFC Squadron Leader P G South Group Captain P de L Le Cheminant DFC |
| 1962 | Group Captain E A Johnston OBE Air Commodore C N Foxley-Norris DSO OBE MA Flight Lieutenant R A Foulks |
| 1963 | Air Commodore J E Allen-Jones OBE MA Air Vice-Marshal C N Foxley-Norris DSO OBE MA Air Vice-Marshal D J P Lee CB CBE |
| 1964 | Air Vice-Marshal C N Foxley-Norris DSO OBE MA |
| 1965 | Air Vice-Marshal W Carter CB DFC Wing Commander E A Knighton AFC Flight Lieutenant D M Waller |
| 1966 | Group Captain E A Johnston OBE |
| 1967 | Air Vice-Marshal W Carter CB DFC Squadron Leader R F Grattan Squadron Leader Duncan Allison |
| 1968 | Squadron Leader M K McCrindle Group Captain H E White DFC AFC Squadron Leader J C Ainsworth |
| 1969 | Squadron Leader J F Gale Squadron Leader J Hulme MA Squadron Leader D J H Collins |



| 1970 | Air Commodore H C D Blasberry CBE MBIM | |
|--------|--|--|
| 1971 | Squadron Leader B J Jackson BA Squadron Leader B J Aldridge Wing Commander E S Williams | |
| 1972 | Wing Commander Duncan Allison Group Captain J D Jones MBE Wing Commander N F Smith | |
| 1973 | Squadron Leader D J Brinkman Squadron Leader R J Page Squadron Leader D J Silk MA PhD CEng MIEE | |
| 1974 | Squadron Leader M J Graydon Wing Commander R F Grattan | |
| 1975 | Group Captain M J Armitage CBE Wing Commander A E G Woods AFC Air Commodore N W P Knight AFC BA | |
| 1976 | Squadron Leader M J Metherell BA Wing Commander R J Kemball | |
| 1977 | Squadron Leader D J Silk MA PhD CEng MIEE (First and Second Prize) | |
| 1978/9 | Flight Lieutenant F J Mills MA MB BChir Wing Commander J S Allison MBE Group Captain R J Kemball | |
| 1980 | Wing Commander D J Silk MA PhD CEng MIEE (First and Second Prize) | |
| 1981 | Wing Commander T P F Jones Flight Lieutenant R G Smith MA | |
| 1982 | Wing Commander A G B Vallance } Joint First Squadron Leader J L Davies MA } Prize Winners | |
| 1983 | Squadron Leader J V Bell Group Captain D J Silk MA PhD CEng MIEE | |
| 1984 | Group Captain D S Lennox OBE CEng MRAeS Air Commodore Duncan Allison CBE | |
| 1985 | Wing Commander A R Thompson MBE BA Flight Lieutenant C Roberts | |



| 1986 | Wing Commander A G B Vallance Squadron Leader C F Wrighton |
|------|--|
| 1987 | Wing Commander A G B Vallance Wing Commander J L Davies |
| 1988 | Squadron Leader A W McM Taggart AFC BA MRAeS Squadron Leader M A Nash BSc |
| 1989 | Wing Commander J L Davies MA MRIN Squadron Leader A Whyte FIISec MIOSH MBIM |
| 1990 | Not Awarded? |
| 1991 | Squadron Leader T P McDonald |
| 1992 | Not Awarded? |
| 1993 | Wing Commander A J Brookes BA Sergeant K Brown |
| 1994 | |
| 1995 | Squadron Leader A G H Cowrie BSc Flight Lieutenant M Pattinson |
| 1996 | Squadron Leader W H Milroy BTh MIPD |
| 1997 | |
| 1998 | Not Awarded |
| 1999 | Not Awarded |
| 2000 | Squadron Leader A J Coller MPhil BA MILT Squadron Leader D R Andrew |
| 2001 | Flight Lieutenant C A White BA MA Squadron Leader C H Goss } Joint Second Squadron Leader M Stubbs } Prize Winners |
| 2002 | Wing Commander A Monkman DFC MA BA Wing Commander C J R Norton BSc |
| 2003 | Flight Lieutenant D L Tucker MA BSc MIL Wing Commander A J Seabright MA BA Wing Commander N J Newman MPhil |



| 2004 | Squadron Leader D M Watkins |
|------|---|
| 2005 | Wing Commander D R Andrew Squadron Leader S P Braun Wing Commander F Spence |
| 2006 | Wing Commander D A Stamp |
| 2007 | Wing Commander R M O'Dell |
| 2008 | Wing Commander S A Harper Wing Commander B J Hunt |
| 2009 | Group Captain C J Luck |
| 2010 | Group Captain A J Byford |
| 2011 | Group Captain A J Byford |
| 2012 | Not awarded |
| 2013 | Not awarded |
| 2014 | Not awarded |
| 2015 | Sergeant Paul Marr |
| 2016 | Wing Commander James Beldon |
| 2017 | Squadron Leader Daniel Shaw |
| 2018 | Wing Commander Stuart Patton |
| 2019 | Group Captain Rob O'Dell |
| 2020 | Flight Lieutenant Tom Raeburn Squadron Leader Ollie Smith |
| 2021 | tbc |

